The Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Museum was named to honor lumberman Charles A. Weyerhaeuser. Charles and his business partner, Richard “Drew” Musser, came to Little Falls at the behest of their fathers, Frederick Weyerhaeuser, and Peter Musser. They were charged with operating the Pine Tree Lumber Company, which was established in 1891. Charles managed the operations of the mill and personnel issues, while Drew took care of the financial side of the business.
The men had houses constructed in 1898 along the east bank of the Mississippi River within sight of the Little Falls dam. The houses, which are mere feet from each other, were designed by Clarence H. Johnston and built by A. D. Harrison. The houses are now owned by the City of Little Falls and are included on the National Register of Historic Places.
The story of Charles Weyerhaeuser converges with the Morrison County Historical Society (MCHS) in the 1960s. The Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Memorial Museum was dedicated on August 24, 1975, and thus became the new home of the Morrison County Historical Society.
The Museum is situated on the bank of the Mississippi River with a stunning view from an overlooking gazebo. The Museum is home to natural prairie gardens, and a Victorian-style fountain in the center of a beautiful courtyard. The museum is open year-round, except for major holidays. Plan your visit today!